Moving to Canvas

Image #16

#16

The first step moving from paper to canvas was to lay out the perspective grid again and re-draw the figures from slide projections, including all the changes. [16]  The large areas of dark were patched in with brown paper and the figures shaded with a raw umber grisaille. Now it was time to think again about the center.

With Rainbow’s help, we provided the back-looking prone hailing figure with a front-looking supine companion. [18]

Image #18A

#18A

Image #18

#18

This yin-yang pair is lively enough to hold the center. [18A] I don’t want it to be “about” any central figure. Even the god with his drum is leading from off-center.

After filling in some colors of the landscape, and locating some of the plants, [19] I realized that finishing it with a layer of color, under-painting all the figures, would take most of the winter.  With the return of warm weather I can go back to the problem of outdoor light.

Image #19

#19

Here are some of the squares in my composition [20].

Image #20

#20

The curve of one diagonal, as it falls, follows the line of the trees on the right. Shall I move the trees on the left a little further in to the edge of the other square?



<< Proportions              A Pause >>

About ccbeels

I am a painter with a web site (Christianbeels.com) hoping to create some extra interest.
This entry was posted in Dionysos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moving to Canvas

  1. Pingback: A Pause « Painting Dionysos

  2. Pingback: Proportions « Painting Dionysos

  3. Pingback: Proportions | Painting Dionysos

  4. Pingback: A Pause | Painting Dionysos

  5. Alma Defendini says:

    Chris: I am really amazed to see how much work a master piece requires. I have learned a lot from your web. I can assure you that I can not leave New York next time I come without seeing all and everyone of the sketches, oils, carbons or whatever you have been doing to complete this beautiful work you are doing now. Keeps us posted on the works. Alma

  6. ccbeels says:

    Thank you, Alma – I look forward to your visit! Chris

Leave a comment